Valley View honors 38 students with 'Excel' awards

4/24/2015, 5:56 p.m.
The winners of "Those Who Excel" awards are the "doers" and "achievers" of the school district, officials said.

Valley View School District 365U provided this news release:

Top achievers from Bolingbrook and Romeoville high schools were honored at the annual Valley View School District 365U “Those Who Excel” luncheon at Bolingbrook Golf Club Wednesday.

Hosted by the Board of Education and Superintendent Dr. James Mitchem, Those Who Excel has honored the “doers” and “achievers” in VVSD high schools since the early 1970s when several students were taken out to lunch by the school board president and district superintendent.

As the years went by, other board members and administrations joined in the annual outing to honor the young men and women who most demonstrated potential for becoming our leaders of tomorrow. The end of the year get-together has become one of the highlights of the year for students, board members and administrators.

Honored from Romeoville High School were: Gloria Mileva, Academic Top Senior and Valedictorian; Joshua Krueger, Outstanding Male Athlete; Erika Edrada, Outstanding Female Athlete; Cole Brooker, Outstanding Math Student and Salutatorian; William Caron and Akachi Ajiere, Outstanding Science Students; Julianna Bochnak, Outstanding MCJROTC Student; Kimberly Larsen, Outstanding NHS Student; Nico Carbonara, Outstanding Career and Technical Education Student; Emily Lopez, Outstanding English Student; McDavis Ansere, Outstanding Social Studies Student; Sarah Hess, Outstanding Student Services Student; Michael Samuelson, Outstanding Student Government Member; Joyce Kim, Outstanding Band Student; Angelica Gaudiano, Outstanding Student Leadership Member; Victor Tapia-Cisneros, Outstanding Transition Student;

Kristen Herrera, Outstanding World Language Student; Sheyanne Ryan, Outstanding Art Student; and Hannah Ford, Outstanding Choir Student.

Honored from Bolingbrook High School were: Johnathon Cook, Academic Top Senior and Valedictorian; Mark Gaskins, Outstanding Male Athlete and Outstanding Kinetic Wellness Student; Megan Lotarski, Outstanding Female Athlete; Melissa Coy, Outstanding Math Student and Salutatorian; Jennifer La, Outstanding Science Student; Jessyca Antley, Outstanding ROTC Student;

Elaine Owusu, Outstanding NHS Student; Cecelia Miller, Outstanding Career and Technical Education Student; Alejandra Ramirez, Outstanding English Student;

Brandon Fagust, Outstanding Social Studies Student; Evan Adams, Outstanding Student Services Student; Amira Aquino, Outstanding Scholastic Bowl Student;

Corey McNulty, Outstanding Music Student; Kristiana Jaleco, Outstanding Newspaper Student; Tyriana Jackson, Outstanding Art Student; Rachel Rusnak, Outstanding Yearbook Student; Shadashalin Pierce, Outstanding World Language Student; Oscar Hernandez, Outstanding ESL Student; and Troy Schaeflein, Outstanding Performing Arts Student.