Dist. 202 students win variety of honors, Lincoln School boundary change

5/7/2015, 11:39 a.m.
Here is a roundup of news from District 202, including one student who was named a National Merit Scholarship winner ...

Here's a roundup of news from District 202:


Olivia Malone

Plainfield South senior wins National Merit Scholarship

Plainfield South High School senior Olivia Malone has been named a 2015 National Merit Scholarship Award recipient.

Malone is one of only 2,500 students nationwide to win a $2,500 National Merit Scholarship, underwritten directly by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

She was chosen from among about 15,000 finalists nationwide. The finalists, announced last fall also included Plainfield North High School seniors Irfaan Khalid and Molly Widing; and Plainfield High School - Central Campus senior Alec Sobkoviak.

Malone joins more than 315,000 other distinguished students who have earned the National Merit Scholar title.

Some Lincoln students moving to Lakewood Falls School

Elementary school students living in the Fieldstone and Stone Bluff subdivisions will attend Lakewood Falls Elementary School next year in a move to relieve congestion at Lincoln Elementary where they currently attend.

The Board of Education approved the attendance zone boundary change at its April 28, 2015 regular meeting. The change will affect 87 current kindergarten through fourth grade students, and any new students from those areas who enroll for the 2015-16 school year.

However, Fieldstone and Stone Bluff subdivision students will continue to attend Ira Jones Middle School and Plainfield North High School for the 2015-16 school year.

The move will also significantly shorten the bus ride for these students, some of whom were on the bus for up to 40 minutes each way going to and from Lincoln. Now their bus ride will be about 15 minutes each way to and from Lakewood Falls.


Tanya Chaudhuri


Cecelia Hoffman


Sara Martinez

Three students to compete in health occupation nationals

Three District 202 students will take a big step toward their future career when they venture to California in June to compete in the Health Occupation Student of America Nationals.

Plainfield East high school seniors Tanya Chaudhuri and Cecelia Hoffman, and Plainfield South senior Sara Martinez earned the opportunity to visit Anaheim by taking first, second and third places respectively in their events at the state HOSA event held in Decatur in March.

Each student is enrolled in the Certified Nursing Assistant program at the Wilco Career Cooperative.

Chaudhuri took first place in the Clinical Specialty and Health Care Innovations category.

She and Hoffman also teamed up for the Health Innovations category, using a 3D printer to create a prosthesis, heart, femur bone and an aorta.

Hoffman also earned second place in Clinical Nursing.

Martinez earned third place in the Home Health Aide event.

National Honor Society inductees announced

Plainfield High School-Central Campus, and Plainfield North, South and East high schools have announced their 2015 inductees into the National Honor Society.

All four schools recently held formal induction ceremonies to welcome, honor and celebrate these new NHS members:


Allison Abellera, Jaycie Ackerman, Connor Allen, Riley Anderson, Josee Angelastro, Kathleen Antos, Amanda Arnold, Chad Badertscher, Alexandra Barillas, Olivia Barrientos, Pamela Binda, Jessica Birchall, Brianna Blaskey, Lily Calderon, Erick Calma, Alondra Calzada, Dakota Carl, Sarah Clowers, Gabriela Corona, Taylor Covert, Samantha Craven, Henry Cunningham, Xante Cutroni, Brianna Degen, Erin Eulitz, Megan Fenili, Kara Fisher, Emma Fleck, Michael Frieh, Megan Fugett, Dakota Fuss, Alex Geib, Spencer Givan, Vanessa Godina, Luis Gonzalez, Edwin Guardado, Serena Guzman, Emily Haarman, Joshua Hauert, Jenna Henderson, John Henneberry, Claire Hotchkin, Jacob Johnson, Onreanna Jonas, Tyler Kauffman, Brittany Keneth, Bridget Ketter, Kirsten Kissel, Noah Kraulidis, Kyle Krawiec, Abby Kudia, Pafel Lara Galla, Jakob Leiva, Jesrael Leiva, Viona Lugo, Logan Lundemo, Alec Machacek, Nicholas Margarella, Anthony Marino Jr., Kaitlin May, Bailee McDaniel, Karissa Medina, Emili Mikolajczyk, Abigail Mikrut, Karan Nair, Liam Nassib, Thomas Olson, Devon Palmer, Rebecca Parmenter, Robert Pavlik, Jarod Petrovic, Amanda Pfoser, Jonelle Pratl, Nicholas Pratt, Camilla Provencher, Bailey Rambo, Vincent Russ, Zachary Ryan, Samantha Sabor, Shawnece Sanders, Madeline Shay, Tia Slove, Eric Smith, Grace Smith, Tia Smith, Phoebe Snydersmith, Delaney Starkman, Kathryn Stewart, Mark Syrek, Brittany Tamayo, Jason Taylor, Lauren Tobolic, Sophia Tuliglowski, Tyler Vogen, Bryn Waligorski, Nicholas Wilson, Emily Worland, Ian Wright.