Shorewood voters will elect 3 trustees, mayor in April election

Brock A. Stein | 1/12/2017, midnight
Voters will have 2 choices for village president and 4 choices for village trustee in the April 4 election.

Shorewood voters will have four choices for village board trustee on April 4 pending an objection filed in December regarding one candidate’s filing paperwork. The village’s 4-term mayor will also face a challenger in the spring as well.

Incumbents Dan Anderson and Daniel Warrren have filed to run for their seats along with candidates Clarence “CC” DeBold and Lona Jakaitis.

Incumbent Edmund Murphy is not seeking re-election.

Jakaitis filed an objection on December 27 that claims that Warren’s paperwork didn’t meet the stated requirements from the State of Illinois Candidates guide 2017. Jakaitis’ objection cites that a candidate’s petition signatures “must be neatly fastened together in book form by fastening them together at one edge in a secure and suitable manner.” Warren’s petition signatures were turned in to the village clerk unbound on Dec. 12, 2016 according to the objection and were not “stapled, paper clipped or bound in anyway” it reads.

If Warren is knocked off the ballot that will mean that voters will have only 3 choices for the 3 open seats.

Former 3-term trustee Jim McDonald was also eliminated from the ballot in 2015 following a similar move when current trustee Anthony Luciano filed an objection calling in to question the veracity of some of his signatures.

In 2015, Jakaitis was a vocal critic of a plan for a gas station that was eventually constructed at the corner of River Road and Route 52. She organized protests, a social media page against the project and gathered 900 opposition signatures.

In addition to trustees, voters will also elect the office of village president. Incumbent village president Rick Chapman has filed to run for a fifth term. He will be challenged by current trustee Barbara “Cookie” Kirkland whose term expires in 2019.

No candidates filed to run for the village clerk’s office. Current Clerk Tracy Ragusa is not seeking re-election.